Alessandro A. Palmitessa


Soul Circles
(© A. Palmitessa)

MP3 "Ibrahim"
MP3 "Macedonia"


GEMA 109423

> Youtube Channel
Solo - Performance:

"SOUL CIRCLES"

Alessandro Palmitessa
Jazz, World Music

Saxophones, Clarinet, Percussion, Loops, Delay e Live Electronics
(+ Special Guests and Visual Artist)

CD Release at May 2007 –EGP records



To "Soul Circles"-Website



Alessandro Palmitessa was born in Atina, Italy, on July 23, 1969.
The composer, clarinetist and saxophonist Alessandro Palmitessa has received numerous awards and is a regular performer at international jazz festivals. He has been involved in many productions for radio and television.

BIOGRAPHY: In Italy, at the "N. Piccinni" Conservatory in Monopoli (Bari) and in Siena, Alessandro Palmitessa studied jazz and classical saxophone. He won a scholarship at "Siena Jazz" and within three years earned his diploma, "High Professional Qualification in Jazz Music and Contemporary Derivation." He studied jazz under Gianluigi Trovesi, Paolo Fresu, Jerry Bergonzi, J. McPherson, Enrico Rava, Tim Berne, Bob Mover, Giorgio Gaslini, Pietro Tonolo, Mario Raja, Furio Di Castri, Rudj Migliardi, Stefano Zenni, Marcello Piras, Claudio Fasoli and Bruno Tommaso.

At the "Sant'Anna Arresi Jazz Festival/Workshop" in Sardinia, Alessandro Palmitessa and his band Noizland 2005 took top honors in the "Newcomer" category. The quintet's first CD was distributed by the "Ai confini tra Sardegna e jazz" festival in Sant'Anna Arresi and the jazz festival in Vignola, under the Nu Bop Records label. The CD includes a guest performance by American trumpeter Lewis Barnes, who played in the William Parkers Quartet as well as in his legendary orchestra.

Between 1990 and 1997 Alessandro Palmitessa played in various bands in Italy, and with such renowned musicians as Antonello Salis, Peter Avanti (Ordinari and Associati), Fontamara (Leo Gadaleta, Vito Quaranta) and the Noci Big Band. He also performed at many music festivals in Italy, including Pistoia Blues, the Alter Festival in Cisternino, and Bari Hi-End.

He performed as a soloist with the Noci Big Band alongside guests such as Pino Minafra, Gianluigi Trovesi, Giancarlo Schiaffini and Carlo Actis Dato.

He played duets with Peter Avanti of New York as "Ordinari and Associati." In collaboration with publisher Brand New York, he produced a CD entitled "What a Way to Live," which was widely reviewed, including critiques in "Keyboard Magazine" (Titus Levi, USA) and the newspaper "Il Manifesto" (Fabrizio Versienti, Italy). With "Ordinari and Associati" and the band Fontamara, Alessandro Palmitessa performed live the soundtracks for various multi-media projects including "Microcosmos," "The Multimedia Blues" and "New Tribal... new trials."

Alessandro Palmitessa has lived in Cologne since 1997, where he founded the "Menschensinfonieorchester" (The Human Symphony Orchestra). He currently serves as the arranger and conductor of the ensemble, which brings together homeless musicians and musical professionals - an idea developed in collaboration with Pastor Hans Mörtter. After the release of the group's first CD, which featured guest performances by Markus Stockhausen, Helmut Zerlett and Klaus der Geiger, among others, an extensive article about the Menschensinfonieorchester appeared in the February 2004 edition of the monthly magazine GEO. In May 2004, German television broadcaster ZDF reported about the ensemble on the "Sonntags" show, and again in January 2005 on "ZDF Menschen - das Magazin." The cultural foundation of the Sparkasse banking group awarded Alessandro Palmitessa and the Menschensinfonieorchester the Rheinischen Förderpreis grant in 2005.
In 2004, the ensemble performed at a church service broadcast by ZDF and in 2006 on "NRW packt's an! - Die Show," broadcast by the West German Broadcasting Company (WDR). It also appeared during the 20th World Youth Day in Cologne in 2005 and the German Protestant Kirchentag national conference in 2007.
In 2006, the HISTORY award of the HISTORY CHANNEL® Germany went to a Cologne project entitled "Navajos and Edelweiss Pirates," which featured the song "Wilde Gesellen" by the Menschensinfonieorchester.
The ensemble's second CD, "Tanz mit mir/Balla con me," was introduced to the public at an event held in the top floor of the spectacular, glass-domed department store designed by Renzo Piano in downtown Cologne.

Together with Agnes Erkens and Steve Nobles, Alessandro Palmitessa performed at the "Jewish Cultural Days" festival of North Rhine-Westphalia in 2002, at the "Music in the City's Homes" festival in Cologne in 2004, and at "Musica Sacra Paderborn 2007." The Agnes Erkens Trio was also heard at the exhibition "Marc Chagall - un Maestro del Novecento" at the Galleria d'Arte Moderna in Turin, and was nominated for the "Creole Prize for World Music" in North Rhine-Westphalia in the year 2007.

Alessandro Palmitessa performed with the trio "Oriental Jazz" at the "16th Festival JAZZALIEGE 2006" in Belgium, at the "Voce dal Ponte IV-2006" international festival in Italy, and during "Music in the City's Homes" in Cologne in 2007.

In 2006 Alessandro Palmitessa organized a program for the Italian Cultural Institute in Cologne entitled "Dialogo in Jazz," which featured events about jazz in Italy and Germany. At one of the events, discussion guests included Stefano Zenni, president of the Società Italiana di Musicologia Afroamericana, critic Pino De Biasi, concert producer Hans-Jürgen von Osterhausen and Gigi Campi, music fan and legendary figure in the jazz scene of Cologne. The exhibit "Jazz italiano - Emozioni, scritti, immagini" featured photography y Roberto Cifarelli. In collaboration with Jazz am Rhein, concerts were given by Noizland, Rita Marcotulli and Florian Weber.

In March 2007, the Filmforum NRW e.V. (i.G.) COLOGNE CINEMATIC SOCIETY presented a series of films in collaboration with cinematologist Geremia Carrara at the Museum Ludwig in Cologne. The screening of LICHTSPIEL OPUS I-IV(1921-25) by Walter Ruttman was accompanied live by Alessandro Palmitessa and the ensemble "Pem" with original and improved music.

Alessandro Palmitessa presented his solo project "Soul Circles" on the "Ohrclip" WDR radio broadcast, and again during the literature festival "Lit.cologne - 100-Book Marathon." Three titles from the "Soul Circles" CD were used as background music for television broadcasts by ZDF in April 2007.

Alessandro Palmitessa toured Europe in 2005 and 2007 with the Shibusa Shirazu Orchestra of Japan, performing at the Moers Festival 2005, Japan Tag in Düsseldorf 2005, Loft Cologne 2005; Bern 2005; Kiel 2005, Geldern 2007; Sannt'Anna Arresi Jazz Festival 2007, Roccella Jonica Jazz Festival 2007; Wien 2007; Nantes Jazz Festival 2007. The ensemble and its founder Daisuke Fuwa have received numerous Japanese jazz awards, and have performed regularly at the Fuji Rock Festival since the year 2000. Shibusa Shirazu has been touring Europe since 1998 and has made extensive recordings for radio and television.

On January 19, 2008, Alessandro Palmitessa and his Pem trio played during the 2008 "Music in the City's Homes" festival. The performance featured guest appearances by double-bass player Sebastien Boisseau of France and Israeli dancer Michal Hirsch.

On March 7, 2008, at the Ludwig Museum of Contemporary Art in Cologne, Alessandro Palmitessa musically interpreted artist Piet Mondrian's journey toward increasing abstraction with a performance featuring new compositions and improvised music that ranged from impressionistic, atmospheric sounds to minimalist structures.


WDR Marathon 100 Bücher foto
Geo Magazin Fotos
Preiss 2005 RSGV Fotos
Köln Südstadt
Stiftung Kultur
Digital Alliance

More Links

Alessandro A. Palmitessa


Soul Circles
(© A. Palmitessa)

MP3 "Ibrahim"
MP3 "Macedonia"


GEMA 109423

> Youtube Kanal
Solo - Performance:

"SOUL CIRCLES"

Alessandro Palmitessa
Jazz, World Music

Saxophones, Clarinet, Percussion, Loops, Delay e Live Electronics
(+ Special Guests and Visual Artist)

CD Release at May 2007 –EGP records



Zur "Soul Circles"-Webseite



Alessandro Palmitessa wurde in Atina (Italien) geboren (23/07/1969)

Der Klarinettist, Saxophonist und Komponist Alessandro Palmitessa ist mehrfacher musikalischer Preisträger und spielt auf internationalen Jazzfestivals. Er wirkte mit bei zahlreichen Aufnahmen für Radio und Fernsehen.

Biografie

In Italien, an der Musikhochschule/Konservatorium "N. Piccinni" in Monopoli (Bari) und in Siena, studierte Alessandro Palmitessa Jazz und klassisches Saxophon. Bei "Siena Jazz" erhielt er ein Stipendium und erlangte nach drei Jahren das Diplom: "High Professional Qualification in Jazz Music and Contemporary Derivation". Er studierte Jazz bei Gianluigi Trovesi, Paolo Fresu, Jerry Bergonzi, J.Mc. Pherson, Enrico Rava, Tim Berne, Bob Mover, Giorgio Gaslini, Pietro Tonolo, Mario Raja, Furio Di Castri, Rudj Migliardi, Stefano Zenni, Marcello Piras, Claudio Fasoli und Bruno Tommaso.

Beim "Sant'Anna Arresi Jazz Festival/Workshop" (Sardinien-Italien) gewann Alessandro Palmitessa mit seiner Band Noizland 2005 den Newcomer-Preis. Die erste CD des Quintetts wurde vom Festival "Ai confini tra Sardegna e jazz" in Sant'Anna Arresi und dem Jazzfestival in Vignola gemeinsam mit dem Label Nu Bop Records herausgegeben. Auf dem Album spielt als Gast der amerikanische Trompeter Lewis Barnes, der sowohl in William Parkers legendärem Orchester als auch in dessen Quartett gespielt hat.

Zwischen 1990 und 1997 spielte Alessandro Palmitessa in Italien mit verschiedenen Bands und Musikern wie Antonello Salis, Peter Avanti (Ordinari and Associati), Fontamara (Leo Gadaleta, Vito Quaranta) oder der Noci Big Band. Er trat auf vielen Italienischen Musikfestivals auf: Pistoia Blues, Pistoia; Alter Festival, Cisternino (Ba); Bari Hi-End.

Als Solist spielte er in der Big Band Noci zusammen mit anderen Gästen wie Pino Minafra, Gianluigi Trovesi, Giancarlo Schiaffini und Carlo Actis Dato.

Mit Peter Avanti (N.Y.) gründete er das Duo "Ordinari and Associati". Mit dem Verlag Brand New York produzierte er die CD "What a Way to Live", über die zahlreiche Rezensionen geschrieben wurden, dies u.a. in der Musikzeitschrift "Keyboard Magazine" (Titus Levi, USA) und in der Tageszeitung "Il Manifesto" (Fabrizio Versienti, Italien). Mit "Ordinari and Associati" und der Band Fontamara spielte Alessandro Palmitessa live bei der Neuvertonung von verschiedenen Multimedialenprojekten: "Microcosmos"; "The Multimedia Blues"; "New Tribal... new trials".

Seit 1997 lebt Alessandro Palmitessa in Köln. Hier gründete er 2001 das "Menschensinfonieorchester", dessen Leiter und Arrangeur er ist. Das Orchester bringt obdachlose Musiker mit Profi-Musikern zusammen - eine Idee, die gemeinsam mit Pfarrer Hans Mörtter entwickelt wurde. Nach Veröffentlichung der ersten CD, auf der Gäste wie Markus Stockhausen, Helmut Zerlett und Klaus der Geiger mitwirken, erschien ein ausführlicher Bericht über das Menschensinfonieorchester in der Februarausgabe 2004 der Monatszeitschrift GEO. In Mai 2004 berichtete die ZDF-Sendung "Sonntags" und im Januar 2005 die ZDF -Sendung "ZDF-Menschen das Magazin" über das Menschensinfonieorchester. Mit dem von ihm geleiteten Menschensinfonieorchester gewann Alessandro Palmitessa 2005 den Rheinischen Förderpreis der Sparkassen-Kulturstiftung.
Das Menschensinfonieorchester spielte bei der ZDF Sendung "Fernsehgottesdienst" 2004 und bei der WDR Sendung "NRW packt's an! - Die Show"-2006, bei dem XX World Youth Day Cologne 2005 und dem Deutschen Evangelischen Kirchentag 2007.
2006 ging der HISTORY-Award von THE HISTORY CHANNEL® Deutschland an Köln: Ausgezeichnet wurde das Projekt "Navajos und Edelweißpiraten", bei dem das Menschesinfonieorchester hat mit dem Song "Wilde Gesellen" vertreten war.
Die zweite CD vom Menschensinfonieorchester, "Tanz mit mir/Balla con me", wurde im November 2006 in der Kuppel des in der Kölner City gelegenen Weltstadthauses von Renzo Piano der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt.

Mit Agnes Erkens und Steve Nobles spielte Alessandro Palmitessa auf den " Jüdischen Kulturtagen 2002" in NRW, bei "Musik in den Häusern der Stadt 2004" in Köln und bei "Musica Sacra Paderborn 2007". Im Jahr 2004 spielte das Trio mit Agnes Erkens während der Ausstellung "Marc Chagall - un Maestro del Novecento" in der Galleria d'Arte Moderna in Turin. Das Agnes Erkens-Trio ist im Jahr 2007 für den "Creole Preis für Weltmusik" in NRW/Deutschland nominiert.

Mit dem Trio "Oriental Jazz" spielte Alessandro Palmitessa auf dem "16e Festival JAZZALIEGE 2006" in Belgien; dem Internationalem Festival "Voce dal Ponte IV-2006" in Italien und bei "Musik in den Häusern der Stadt 2007" in Köln.

2006 organisierte Alessandro Palmitessa im Italienischen Kulturinstitut Köln "Dialogo in Jazz", eine Veranstaltungsreihe über den Jazz in Italien und in Deutschland. Auf einer Podiumsdiskussion diskutierten Stefano Zenni, Präsident der Società Italiana di Musicologia Afroamericana, der Kritiker Pino De Biasi, der Konzert-Veranstalter Hans-Jürgen von Osterhausen und Gigi Campi, Musikfreund und mythische Figur im Jazzleben der Stadt am Rhein. Die Ausstellung "Jazz italiano - Emozioni, scritti, immagini" zeigte Fotografien von Roberto Cifarelli. In Zusammenarbeit mit Jazz am Rhein wurden Konzerte veranstaltet mit: Noizland, Rita Marcotulli und Florian Weber.

Im März 2007 präsentierte das Filmforum NRW e.V. (i.G.) KINO GESELLSCHAFT KÖLN in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Filmwissenschaftler Geremia Carrara im Museum Ludwig Köln die Filmreihe LICHTSPIEL OPUS I-IV(1921-25) von Walter Ruttman mit einer live eingespielten Neuvertonung von Alessandro Palmitessa und dem Ensemble "Pem".

Im WDR Hörfunk stellte Alessandro Palmitessa sein Solo-Project "Soul Circles"vor, dies in der Sendung "Ohrclip" und beim "Lit.cologne -100 Bücher Marathon".

Im April 2007 wählte das ZDF für drei TV-Sendungen die CD "Soul Circles" von Alessandro Palmitessa als Background-Musik aus.

Alessandro Palmitessa tourte 2005 und 2007 mit Shibusa Shirazu Orchestra (Japan) durch Europa: Moers Festival 2005, Japan Tag Düsseldorf 2005, Loft Köln 2005; Bern 2005; Kiel 2005, Geldern 2007; Sannt'Anna Arresi Jazz Festival 2007, Roccella Jonica Jazz Festival 2007; Wien 2007; Nantes Jazz Festival 2007. Die Gruppe um den Gründer Daisuke Fuwa erhielt zahlreiche japanische Jazzauszeichnungen und seit dem Jahr 2000 tritt es auch regelmäßig auf dem Fuji Rock Festival auf. Shibusa Shirazu tourt seit 1998 in Europa und wirkte mit bei zahlreichen Aufnahmen für Radio und Fernsehen.
Am 19.Januar 2008 spielt Alessandro Palmitessa mit seinem Trio Pem bei "Musik in den Häusern der Stadt 2008". Zu Gast: der Kontrabassist Sebastien Boisseau (Frankeich) und die israelische Tänzerin Michal Hirsch.
Am 7. März 2008 begleitet der in Köln lebende Musiker und Komponist Alessandro Palmitessa im Museum Ludwig Köln mit seinen Kompositionen und Improvisationen den Weg Mondrians in die Abstraktion. Das Spektrum reicht von impressionistischen Sphärenklängen bis zu minimalistischen Klangarchitekturen.



Fotos von Roberto Cifarelli
(http://www.robertocifarelli.com)


EGP Records
WDR Marathon 100 Bücher foto
Geo Magazin Fotos
Preiss 2005 RSGV Fotos
Köln Südstadt
Stiftung Kultur
Digital Alliance

Weitere Links